Friday, November 14, 2014

Review: The Witch's Curse + Adventures in Flatfrost - Jordan Quinn

A copy was provided by the illustrator
in exchange for
an honest review
The Witch's Curse by Jordan Quinn
Series: The Kingdom of Wrenly #4
Genre: Beginning Readers, fantasy
Published on August 5, 2014
Published by Little Simon
Pages: 128
Read From: 10.25.14 - 10.25.14

It has been raining nonstop for six whole days and the fields are in danger of flooding. Someone has cursed the Kingdom of Wrenly! Prince Lucas immediately suspects the wizard Grom. He always seems to have a scowl on his face and is usually locked away in his tower. But the prince doesn't have any proof. Can Lucas, Clara, and Ruskin figure out who's behind the evil spell and stop the villain before it's too late?

A copy was provided by the publisher
in exchange for
an honest review
Adventures in Flatfrost by Jordan Quinn
Series: The Kingdom of Wrenly #5
Genre: Beginning Readers, fantasy
Published on October 7, 2014
Published by Little Simon
Pages: 128
Read From: 10.25.14 - 20.25.14

After a game of hide-and-seek, Ruskin and Prince Lucas are in trouble again. With all the ice in the castle melted, the king is not pleased. He sends Lucas and Ruskin to Flatfrost to fetch more ice from the giants who live there. High in the snowy mountains some new larger-than-life friends lend a helping hand as Lucas, Clara, and Ruskin learn to respect the hard work of others.


Books #4 and #5 in The Kingdom of Wrenly series! In The Witch's Curse, Lucas and Clara take on a powerful sorcerer who has cursed the kingdom with eternal rain. But is the person whom Lucas suspects really responsible? I know I say this every time, but this was probably my favorite. It seems like the series just keeps getting better and better (and this totally has nothing to do with the fact that there's an actual hedgehog in The Witch's Curse, if you look closely). We don't explore as much of Wrenly as in past books, but we get to meet a new and very interesting character: the witch in question. Loved her so much!!

In Adventures in Flatfrost, Lucas and Ruskin his dragon have to learn a hard lesson in appreciating hard work, when Ruskin melts all of the ice in the palace kitchens. As punishment, Lucas and Ruskin are sent to help the Flatfrost giants harvest more ice, and if Ruskin doesn't show better training after that, he'll be sent away. I really enjoyed seeing the world of the giants, but I have to admit that this might be my least favorite. That isn't to say I didn't like it! Because I totally and absolutely did; it's just in comparison to the others, this is my least favorite. The other books have always taught little life lessons, but have mostly just been fun. The life lesson in Adventures in Flatfrost was a little more obvious and heavy-handed than in past books. Not to the point to where it felt preachy, but it got a little close.

Still, it offered a lot of fun adventure, we got to see more of the land of Wrenly and its neighbors, and that's always awesome. These two new installments in probably my favorite beginning reader series will not disappoint.

Others in The Kingdom of Wrenly Series:
1)The Lost Stone
2)The Scarlet Dragon
3)Sea Monster!
4)The Witch's Curse
5)Adventures in Flatfrost
6)Beneath the Stone Forest

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting The Reading Hedgehog! The hedgie and I love hearing from our readers, so please feel free to leave a comment or question! I always try to reply within a day or two. Please keep all comments civil and clean.